Broward County School Board Elects Alhadeff and Hixon as Chair, Vice Chair 
The Broward County School Board.

By Sharon Aron Baron

The School Board of Broward County, Florida, unanimously elected Lori Alhadeff, District 4, as Chair, and Debra Hixon, Countywide At-Large, Seat 9, as Vice Chair. 

The nominations and election took place on Tuesday during the School Board’s annual Organizational Meeting, following a Swearing-in Ceremony for newly elected and re-elected School Board members.

Alhadeff, of Parkland, has served on the School Board since 2018 and has previously served as Vice Chair. The new Vice Chair, Hixon, was first elected to the School Board in 2020.

At the Swearing-in Ceremony held at Fort Lauderdale High School, the School Board welcomed three newly elected and two re-elected members. New School Board members are Brenda Fam, Esq., District 6; Dr. Jeff Holness, District 5; and Dr. Allen Zeman, Countywide At-Large, Seat 8. Re-elected School Board members Alhadeff, District 4, and Nora Rupert, District 7, also took the oath of office.

Additional School Board members currently serving terms include Torey Alston, District 2; Sarah Leonardi, District 3; and Hixon, Countywide At-Large, Seat 9.

Send your news to Parkland’s #1 Award-Winning News Source, Parkland Talk. Don’t miss reading Coral Springs TalkMargate Talk, and Tamarac Talk.

Author Profile

Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron
Sharon Aron Baron is a Parkland resident and editor of Talk Media. She has been covering Parkland news since 2012. Parkland Talk was created to provide News, Views, and Entertainment for the residents of Parkland.

Vantasure Realty